Royal shock: the only rule that could see William and George lose their right of throne

Prince William is the second in line of the throne, being the son of Prince Charles and grandson of the current monarch, Queen Elizabeth II . The eldest son of the Duke of Cambridge Prince George only six years old, is third. This means that at one point, both of them are supposed to ascend the throne.

However, a rule in the British Succession Acts may allow William and George, along with other royals, to lose their status.

Succession to the throne is governed not only by descent but also by parliamentary status.

The foundation of the succession was determined by the constitutional developments of the seventeenth century, which resulted in the Rights (1689) and the Colonization Act (1701)

By virtue of these two laws, it is stated that a "Roman Catholic is expressly excluded from the succession to the throne".

READ MORE: Threat against security in Prince George: the convicted torturer was close to the king

Royal shock: a ruler could see Prince George and Prince William lose their right to the throne (Image: GETTY)

Indeed, the royals are members of the Church of England, which is a Protestant Anglican Church.

The royal family has been part of this religion since the 16th century.

This means that if Prince William or Prince George turn away from this exact Christian belief, they

The controversial rule is stated on the royal family's website and reads: "The law states that only Protestant descendants of Princess Sophia - the Hanoverian Electrician and granddaughter of James I - are eligible to succeed. . Subsequent acts have confirmed it.

Royal shock

Royal shock: Prince William and George should both become king. day (Image: GETTY)

Royal shock

The estate of the British royal family (Image: EXPRESS / GETTY)

"Parliament, under the Bill of Rights and the Settlement Act, also set out various conditions that the sovereign must fulfill.

"A Catholic is expressly excluded from the succession to the throne.

"The sovereign must also be in communion with the Church of England and swear to preserve the established Church of England and the established Church of Scotland.

"The sovereign must also promise to defend the Protestant succession. . "

However, members of the royal family would be allowed to marry Catholics without being disqualified. [19659004] The law reads: "The law puts an end to the provisions that exclude successors from those who marry Roman Catholics."

According to the Royal website, these changes came into effect in the sixteen kingdoms in March 2015 [19659025] Royal Shock "title =" Royal Shock "data-w =" 590 "data-h =" 1093 ">

Members of the Royal Family from 1819 to 2019 (Image: EXPRESS / GETTY) [19659027] The line of succession

  • 1. Charles, Prince of Wales
  • 2. William, Duke of Cambridge
  • 3. Prince George of Cambridge
  • 4. Princess Charlotte of Cambridge
  • 5. Prince Louis of Cambridge
  • 6. Harry, Duke of Sussex
  • 7. Master Archie Mountbatten-Windsor
  • 8. The Duke of York
  • 9. Princess Beatrice of York
  • 10. Princess Eugenie of York

This article appeared first (in English) on SUNDAY EXPRESS