A long standing history that celebrates African football

The CAF Awards is an awards ceremony held to honor the best african association football players. It is conferred by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

The 35th edition of the high profile award organized in Dakar Senegal this Tuesday 8th January 2019.

Mohamed Salah completed a memorable day for Egyptian football by retaining his African Player of the Year award in Senegal Tuesday.

The 26-year-old Liverpool star finished first with club-mate Senegalese Sadio Mane and Arsenal and Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang the other finalists.

He is CAF player of the year for two consecutive years: 2018 and 2019 respectively

All CAF players of the year

1970: Salif Kéita (Mali)

1971: Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)

1972: Cherif Souleymane (Guinea)

1973: Tshimen Bwanga (DRC)

1974: Paul Moulika (Congo)

1975: Ahmed Faras (Morocco)

1976: Roger Milla (Cameroon)

1977: Tarak Dhiab (Tunisia)

1978: Karim Addul Razak (Ghana)

1979: Thomas Nkono (Cameroon)

1980: Jean Manga Onguene (Cameroon)

1981: Lakhdar Belloumi (Algeria)

1982: Thomas Nkono (Cameroon)

1983: Mahmoud Al-Khatib (Egypt)

1984: Théophile Abéga (Cameroon)

1985: Mohamed Timouni (Morocco)

1986: Badou Zaki (Morocco)

1987: Rabah Madjer (Algaria)

1988: Kalusha Bwalya (Zambia)

1989: George Weah (Liberia)

1990: Roger Milla (Cameroon)

1991: Abedi Pele (Ghana)

1992: Abedi Pele (Ghana)

1993: Abedi Pele (Ghana)

1994: George Weah (Liberia)

1995: George Weah (Liberia) World Best Player

1996: Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria)

1997: Victor Ikpeba (Nigeria)

1998: Mustapha Hadji (Morocco)

1999: Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria)

2000: Patrick Mboma (Cameroon)

2001: El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)

2002: El Hadji Diouf (Senegal)

2003: Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon)

2004: Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon)

2005: Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon)

2006: Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)

2007: Frederic Kanoute (Mali)

2008: Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo)

2009 Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)

2010: Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon)

2011: Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast)

2012: Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast)

2013: Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast)

2014: Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast)

2015: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)

2016: Riyad Mahrez (Algeria)

2017: Mohamed Salah (Egypt)

2018: Mohamed Salah (Egypt)

Benly Anchunda

This article appeared first on http://www.crtv.cm/2019/01/caf-awards-a-long-standing-history-that-celebrates-african-football/